About the IFC
Current news


Jóhann Jóhannsson wins Best Film Composer at the World Soundtrack Awards

Jóhann Jóhannsson posthumously won the Best Film Composer award at the World Soundtrack Awards. He won the award for his final three original film scores; Mandy, The Mercy and Mary Magdalene. Hildur Gudnadóttir, film composer and frequent collaborator of Jóhannsson, accepted the award on his behalf.

Jóhannsson won the same award last year, for his original film score for director Denis Villeneuve‘s Arrival.

During his 18-year-long film composing career Jóhannsson received two nominations for an Academy Award for Best Original Score; in 2015 for The Theory of Everything and in 2016 for Sicario. He won a Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score in 2015 for The Theory of Everything and was nominated for the same award in 2017 for Arrival. At the BAFTA Awards he received nominations for Best Original Music for three consecutive years from 2015-2017, for Theory of Everything, Sicario and Arrival. He also received nominations at the Grammy Awards for Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media; in 2016 for The Theory of Everything and in 2018 for Arrival.