About the IFC
Current news


A Different Kind of Award Ceremony: The EFAs 2020

Presented as a series of virtual events, this year's European Film Awards (EFAs) will take place every evening from December 8 - 12 with a livestream of “The EFAs at Eight”, celebrating the nominees and winners of the various categories of the 2020 European Film Awards.

The entire programme will be streamed live at www.europeanfilmawards.eu and through an international network of streaming and broadcasting partners, with the nominees & winners joining via live video conference.


The EFAs at Eight: From Survival to Revival: Building the Post-Covid Future
Re-structuring, re-engineering and re-aligning the European film industry with British director Mark Cousins, recipient of the new EFA Award for Innovative Storytelling for his ground-breaking documentary WOMEN MAKE FILM: A NEW ROAD MOVIE THROUGH CINEMA; Polish director and former EFA Chairwoman Agnieszka Holland; Kirsten Niehuus, CEO Film Funding Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg; and Danish director Thomas Vinterberg, nominated with his film ANOTHER ROUND.

Moderated by UK-based Wendy Mitchell, editor of EFA Close-Up, contributing editor at Screen International and a consultant for the San Sebastian, Rotterdam and Zurich film festivals.


The EFAs at Eight: The EFA Excellence Awards
Presenting the winners in the categories European Cinematography, Editing, Production Design, Costume Design, Make-up & Hair, Original Score, Sound, and Visual Effects

Moderated by Wim Wenders & Marion Döring

The EFAs at Eight: EURIMAGES, Short Film & EUFA
Presenting the winners in the categories EURIMAGES Co-Production Award, European Short Film and European University Film Award (EUFA)

Moderated by Mike Goodridge

FRIDAY, 11 DEC, 20.00 CET
The EFAs at Eight: Comedy & Animation
Presenting the winners in the categories European Comedy & European Animated Feature Film

Moderated by Mike Goodridge


The EFAs 2020 Grand Finale from the Futurium in Berlin:
Presenting the EFA Award for Innovative Storytelling, as well as the Awards for European Documentary, European Discovery, European Actress, European Actor, European Screenwriter, European Director and European Film.

Announcing – for the first time – the nominations for the LUX European Audience Film Award by the European Parliament and the European Film Academy and in partnership with the European Commission and Europa Cinemas

Moderated by German TV host and film buff Steven Gätjen

Hosted by Marion Döring, Mike Downey, Agnieszka Holland & Wim Wenders


Presenting the awards will be a great group of Berlin-based European actresses and actors, among them Emily Atef, Louis Hofmann, Vicky Krieps, Annabelle Mandeng, Kida Khodr Ramadan, Tyron Ricketts and Maryam Zaree.

With the special participation of Icelandic actress Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir.


For many years now, the annual award ceremony is produced by the managing director of EFA Productions, Jürgen Biesinger (executive producer), and EFA Director Marion Döring (producer).


Apart from decade-long, relentless creative activity with one of Iceland's most acclaimed acts Múm, Gunnar Örn Tynes has worked as musician and producer on high profile movie and TV productions such as Joker, Chernobyl, Mary Magdalene, The Hate U Give and the Icelandic TV series Trapped.

Viktor Orri Árnason is one of Iceland's most profiled instrumentalists and composers, having conducted and created arrangements for Jóhann Jóhannsson, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Dustin O'Halloran and Nils Frahm amongst many others. He is also the violin and viola voice behind renowned string library manufacturer Spitfire's Evolutions editions.

This year, both team up with composer Kriton Klingler-Ioannides to commit their talent to creating the music for the online EFA 2020 Award Ceremony.

As a special music act from Harpa Concert Hall, Reykjavik: Gyða Valtýsdóttir and Kjartan Sveinsson will perform their song “Liquidity”.


The official #efa2020 design was created by German art directors Bode Brodmüller and Christin Franke. The two overlapping spheres stand for two connecting elements, past and future; but also communication in these abstract times of Covid-19 and all those contacts that we miss.

The award ceremony was set to take place in Iceland this year but the European Film Academy (EFA), the Mayor of Reykjavík and the Icelandic Minister of Education, Science and Culture, decided to cancel the event due to Covid-19, and announced that instead the 35th European Film Awards Ceremony will be presented in Reykjavik in December 2022.