About the IFC
Current news


Jóhann Jóhannsson nominated for BAFTA for third year in a row

The Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson has been nominated for the BAFTA award for Best Original Music for his score for the film Arrival, which was directed by Denis Villeneuve and stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker. Jóhannsson was recently nominated for a Golden Globe for his Arrival score. This is the third year in a row that Jóhannsson has received a BAFTA nomination.

Last year Jóhannsson was nominated for a BAFTA for his Sicario score and in 2015 he was nominated for his score for the film The Theory of Everything.

Other nominees for this year's Original Music BAFTA are Mica Levi for Jackie, Justin Hurwitz for La La Land, Dustin O‘Halloran and Hauschka for Lion and Abel Korzeniowski for Nocturnal Animals. Further information on the nominees and awards can be found on the BAFTA website.

This is the fourth time that Jóhannsson and Denis Villeneuve have worked together – Jóhannsson also composed the scores to Villeneuve's previous films, Prisoners and Sicario, and scores his upcoming film, Blade Runner 2049. Jóhannsson also scored Trapped, the 10-episode TV series from creators Baltasar Kormákur and Sigurjón Kjartansson.

Two Icelanders have previously won BAFTAs: the composer Ólafur Arnalds for his original score for the BBC series Broadchurch, (2014) and Valdís Óskarsdóttir for her editing of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2005).