About the IFC
Current news


Jóhann Jóhannsson receives second Golden Globe nomination

The Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson has been nominated for the Golden Globe for Best Original Score for the sci-fi drama Arrival, directed by Denis Villeneuve. This is Jóhannsson's second nomination. He was also nominated in 2015 for his score for the British drama The Theory of Everything. He went on to win the award that year, becoming the first Icelander to win a Golden Globe.

The other nominees for best original score are Nicholas Britell for Moonlight; Justin Hurwitz for La La Land; Dustin O'Halloran and Hauschka for Lion; and Hans Zimmer, Pharrell Williams and Benjamin Wallfisch for Hidden Figures. Further information on all Golden Globe nominees for 2017 can be found here.

Jóhannsson has enjoyed great success as a film composer over the last few years, picking up successive Oscar and BAFTA nominations for his scores for The Theory of Everything (in 2015) and Sicario (in 2016) and a Grammy nomination in 2016 for The Theory of Everything.

Jóhannsson also composed the scores for two of Denis Villeneuve's previous films, Prisoners and Sicario, and the pair will team up again for the highly anticipated Blade Runner 2049. Jóhannsson's original songs have also been used in the soundtracks of films such as Wicker Park, Prisoners and Foxcatcher.

Jóhannsson has been labeled “an intrepid musical enigma” by the BBC. He has a long career in music, which has included being a part of the Icelandic bands HAM, Lhooq and the Apparat Organ Quartet before embarking on a solo career and film composing.

Jóhann Jóhannsson currently resides in Berlin.