About the IFC
Current news


Edvard Egilsson nominated for the Nordic Film Composer Awards

Edvard Egilsson has been nominated for the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award.

Edvard is nominated for the music he composed for the documentary Smoke Sauna Sisterhood, directed by Estonian filmmaker Anna Hints. The film is a co-production between Estonia, France, and Iceland and has achieved significant success worldwide since its premiere at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year.

The jury's statement remarks that it is „special and rare to witness an interaction of the music with all the elements that make up this multilayered storytelling that is tender, honest and heartrending.“

This marks the second consecutive year Edvard has been nominated for the awards.

The Icelandic jury consists of Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson, Hilmar Oddsson, Margrét Örnólfsdóttir, and Pétur S. Jónsson. The Harpa Awards were established in 2009 with the aim of highlighting talent in the field of film music composition in the Nordic countries.